January 20, 2002
Unplugged

I'm watching a special on Unplugged right now. If I were a famous artist & talented enough to be on the show, I would be on Unplugged . "Tears in Heaven" is a great song, though, isn't it? It's a shame Unplugged went away for a while, it's one of the best things they ever did, I think.

I'm going out to dinner with my parents today, it's my mom's birthday. She seemed to like the earrings I got for her, for once I was way ahead of schedule and bought her gift 3 weeks before her actual birthday, maybe even 4 weeks. Completely unlike me, but it meant I didn't have to worry about getting anything for her during finals or anything like that.

Last night I hung out with Lauren, Danny, & Christian. For the most part it was fun with the exception of a few arguments. Everyone argued. I mean, we're all fine, and most of it wasn't really earth-shattering or anthing like that. We argued, we told jokes, called people whores, and gossiped. We actually all talked the whole night, just about. Which is what I like about my friends: I like that we can spend a whole night just talking. I think there are a lot of people, especially when it comes to a group of people, they aren't able to sustain conversation for that long, without forcing it some. I don't think any of my friends were forcing it, though, so it's another one of the many reasons why I love them.

Hmm...all lovey-dovey am I. It turns out our hard drive crashed ::gasp::, we're going to get another one sent to us. That means I lost a bunch of images on my hard drive, though, and possibly my history paper. It may be kind of recovering temporarily, right now it's fragmented & fixing itself, it should be done at about 10 I'd have to guess. There was a band called "The Church"? The stuff I learn. So I'll be cruising downtown all by myself after I do dinner with my parents, because they're going to a play. So I drive myself home. And nothing good is on tv, and I need more DVDs, damnit. I'll probably end up just typing extra-long e-mails, maybe do some actual reading or writing done, and retype my history paper just in case my computer doesn't keep it through.

I was too young to see Unplugged the first time around...I'm only 16 now. I wish there were more of them now, it's barely back. Jay-Z, woo. Jay-z's cool, I guess, but look at all the fantastic artists who have already done their unplugged thing: Paul Simon, Nirvana, Pearl Jam, LL Cool J, Neil Young, Eric Clapton, Tori Amos, Paul McCartney, 10,000 Maniacs, Soul Asylum (I like them, ok?), Stone Temple Pilots, Tony Bennett (my Nana loves him & Frank Sinatra...wouldn't have been great if they had gotten Frank Sinatra), Bob Dylan. Need I go on? You forgot, I bet, but Unplugged did some really fantastic shows. Kiss without their make up! So let's have a moment for Unplugged , I need to buy Tori's unplugged...But a moment.

.

.

.

I never catch it when it's on. Just the specials, and Jay-Z's. Thank you MTV2, MTV: take note of what MTV2 is doing, and give up TRL. And Making the Band. I hate Making the Band...it produced O-Town, a wrong that will take a long time to be made right.

If it can be made right. O-Town's pretty bad...naming celebrities in their song lyrics. Them and LFO have to really be the music industry scraping out every last piece of crap out of the boy band barrel.

Love,

Mandy

past the mission

Site Meter