August 25, 2003
Summer Reading-Finished!

Today ended up being quite fantastic.

Christian and Elizabeth joined me for my hard-core reading session today. We started off at Starbucks so we could have enough caffeine to carry us through until lunch, then we read in the library for a while despite the lawnmowers and weed-whackers wreaking havoc on honest blades of grass that should happen to spring up right outside our window there.

After lunch at China Way (mmm) Christian left; Elizabeth stayed with me until 3. I left at 6:20 with all of my mandatory summer reading finished, which rocked pretty hard.

I celebrated by buying a planner, Swedish Fish, heavy-duty Claritin, and a couple of books that my Creative Writing teacher recommended to me: Like Life by Lorrie Moore and A Time to be Born by Dawn Powell. Then to satisfy my own addiction I bought The Romantic Manifesto by Ayn Rand, which is all about how art actually CAN be defined.

I needed a Rand fix, what can I say? It is amazing I bought only one book.

Then I just bombarded someone into thinking more like me about college. He is a brilliant kid and he is talking about going to OSU; one of my biggest pet peeves is when I see people that have worked extremely hard end up going to OSU, even if they do end up at the Honors College. I do not give people the speech after they decide to go, but until then I do everything I can to try to encourage them to take a risk and broaden their horizons. Hopefully he will go to D.C., since he wants to be a political science major. He is one of the smartest kids I know and I told him I would cry if he ends up going to OSU.

He agreed with me that he would not even be considering OSU if he did not live here. Something about being afraid of change, but he can always transfer if it rocks his world too much. I know he will make the decision that is best for him but for now I am going to push the other side extremely hard.

Following that and doing some editing, I am feeling might powerful.

ANd now that my reading is done, tomorrow is almost all mine! Damn work or it would all be mine. Swedish Fish will comfort me, along with my books. Rawr. Yay for Ayn Rand.

Love,

Mandy

past the mission

Site Meter