January 20, 2002
Lord of the Rings

Saw the movie today with Danny & my dad. To start off, I am not a fantasy girl. I read The Hobbit in 7th grade because it was required. The only fantasy I read is the stuff that for one reason or another I'm made to read, either it's required for school, or a friend tells me "You have to read this" and keeps on making references until the book so I feel dumb until I finally read the book. I like my realistic fiction, and lately the movies I've been seeing have been action (weird, because I'm not an action chick either), comedy, or weird independent film stuff. So today I saw Lord of the Rings .

Umm...it was long. Really long. I kept on finding these little points in teh movie, and I'd tell Danny, "Wow, this would be a REALLY great stopping point!" Or when the movie lulled, I would start commenting about how it was one of those movies that deserved an Intermission, because I wanted to jump up and down. I easily could've slept during some parts.

I'm sure it was a good fantasy movie. I just wouldn't know, is all. I liked it more than I thought it would, parts of it were nice & exciting. I heard that some of the guys in the movie were really hot, but I didn't think so. And it was bugging me, I couldn't figure out who played Gandalf, I still need to check that. Ok, it was Ian McKellen. Now to see how I know him...Ok, it must've been from seeing him in previews for Gods & Monsters. I didn't recognize anything else listed. It was really bugging me, though.

I learned how to solo on guitar today. Well, I sort of already knew, but my teacher kept on talking about the importance of rhythm, how guitar is easy once you understand the importance of rhythm, listening to the music, etc. He talked about that for 20 minutes or so. Playing along is fun, though. Now I can be obsessed with playing guitar solos.

Love,

Mandy

past the mission

Site Meter