March 18, 2004
Anthropology

Back from Syracuse; still mixed up.

It turns out I do not find out about the scholarship until next week. Unlike every other piece of information they have given me, this they are going to mail, NOT UPS overnight. Thank you Syracuse, after all of the cash you spent on me in the past three days in a hotel room far nicer than I deserve with all kinds of other superfluous perks, please watch your budget with the mail.

I cannot even trust my feelings on Syracuse until I find out about the scholarship. I may just be looking for reasons to dislike the school so I will not be hurt when I am rejected. I do things like that; it would make sense.

But there were some very entertaining days! I will avoid the moment-by-moment update and try to stick to the highlights.

Or lowlights, when it comes to the first moment worth mentioning. Because all of us are so intelligent and precocious, we lunched with the famous anthropologist Meave Leakey. If you want to know more about how I am talking about, head here. In something that is neither here nor there, in one picture of her when she was younger, she looked amazingly similar to Sarah Jessica Parker.

But back to the interesting part, right? So one of my fellow finalists was asking the famous (and very nice) Dr. Leakey a question when he bent over and just threw up. A LOT. It was not a simple matter of if you did not look you missed it; everyone was in shock, mortified for him. And fighting the urge to giggle, since it was so uncomfortable. Dr. Leakey mostly seemed flustered by the whole situation. The admissions people kindly suggested we all move on to something and end the lunch there, since it was about time anyway. The poor kid spent the rest of his stay in the health center and the hotel. I doubt he will get the scholarship only because he missed out on one of the scrutinization activities.

When I was discussing the poor guy's mortifying mishap one of the other guys had his own embarassing moment, getting a little too happy. Suddenly he became frantic to check out the second floor lobby, which just confused me until my roommate explained the situation to me afterwards. The same guy, when someone else wanted to take a picture and I of course fled down the hall, said something about how could I not want to have my picture taken with such a pretty or beautiful face. I cannot remember which term he used.

"And then did you let them take your picture?" Christian asked me when I told him.

"No."

"That makes me laugh."

But the updates will have to continue later, if I remember. Time to go shop for books and bum around town with Alison!

Oh, and fun excerpt from a recent e-mail I sent:

Smith sent me something about student life. I was pissed. Honestly, they know they're being teases and they do it anyway. It may be the perfect school for me after all.

But what is even funnier is this from my Lit teacher:

Perhaps you should've told them in the interview that Shakespeare has taught you that revenge is a natural female desire. "Just think about that," you could've said.

If I do not write again for a while, it is because I am being fabulous in Las Vegas.

Love,

Mandy

past the mission

Site Meter