July 8, 2003
Summer School-CANCELED!

Despite the forecast I had given myself, this has been a great morning so far.

I woke up in a sleepy daze and did my normal morning routine: strawberry slim fast, Arts and Accent section of The Columbus Dispatch, and the Opinion page of the New York Times. It is a morning routine I highly recommend. I have been reading at least part of the newspaper since third grade and now I cannot imagine starting my morning any other way. When the paper is late it's a near tragedy.

Then I practiced my demonstration speech (origami balloons) and timed myself. It ran a little long but I resolved to just move a little quicker and not spend so much time making pauses for emphasis during the speech.

But it was when I went to summer school that my morning went from ordinary to mind blowingly wonderful. I was amazed at the order the drivers of Columbus assembled to allow for the light that was out and sans cop to work without any problems. I turned in and saw Kim waving at me wildly. Confused I went to the parking lot to see all of the cars turning out.

No summer school today! And the best part is that I cannot see how they can possibly make it up since as soon as we are finished the next session starts. So maybe we will be a little more rushed in these next three days (the number three tastes so sweet on my tongue) but for today I am free free free.

Kim and I then went for coffee (mmmm), which I owe her money for since I was my usual cashless self, then we walked around looking for places that were open and crossing roads that should probably not be crossed because we had no desire to get in our cars. One of the highlights was checking out the Hobby Lobby decor, fun funky rustic chests, clocks, and knick knacks for cheap prices.

So I am thinking dorm room decorations for next year.

Now it is time to just be blissfully happy and spend an hour or so reading and musing. I am one very happy, caffeinated girl. I have never been so happy this early in the morning.

I also managed to have an excellent conversation with a friend of mine. He gave me tips on "getting me a man" and I promised to keep him updated. He promised to always make time to harass me, even when he is off at college. To make me feel special he told me that I have no physical deformities, which he translated for me into being "not ugly" and he told me that obviously I was intelligent, otherwise he would not "waste time" on me.

There is sentiment and affection beneath his words and it is just another thing I am very lucky to have.

Love,

Mandy

past the mission

Site Meter