July 9, 2003
The Away Message That Rained On My Parade

Who knew that away messages could be so tragic?

I have been saved from another day of summer school due to the continuing power being out. This tells me that prayer works. Fearing that I would have school today I stayed up quite late typing, printing, and silently screaming in frustration. While I was showering, before I passed out in bed, I was praying really hard that I would not have to go to school so I could pay some sleep debt.

I just finished doing that. It was nice except now I am having a hard time snapping back to consciousness. Always a struggle.

Onto the away message, one of my friends in my Speech class has informed via away message that my summer school day is to last approximately eight hours. EIGHT HOURS. There are very few things I will happily do for eight hours, but sitting and listening to speeches for about eight hours sounds like excruciating chinese water torture to me. Four hours, the normal length of my class, I can take with some kind of assurance that I am being noble. Or something. Eight hours is masochistic.

But now is the perfect time to adapt a quotation from Gone With the Wind for my own purposes. I'll think of it all tomorrow, at [school]. I can stand it then... After all, tomorrow is another day. No need to dread going to this class any more than I do. But by Friday at noon I should be done with it forever. Yay!

Mmmm, days off are the best.

Love,

Mandy

past the mission

Site Meter