June 26, 2004
Smeared

I am fascinated with the way that mascara runs.

I am not sure what it is--whether I like how it shows an attempt at beauty being thwarted, or that it is nearly always unexpected, because if one expects to cry, mascara is never brushed on. Last night, while reading the book Dreamland as part of my dating violence kick for the play I am writing, I started crying and only realized later that my mascara was running all over my face.

If I was inclined or good at photography, I would take all kinds of pictures of people with ink by Lancome and Revlon running down, dripping on their cheeks and put them together in some kind of collage. I would even show images of people where the eye make-up was only unintentionally smeared.

Like everyone else, I am more interested in life's imperfections and what they mean.

One imperfection that did not interest me so much as it frustrated me was that Media Play did not have ANY CDs by PJ Harvey in stock, let alone the new one I wanted (Uh Huh Her).

I had not been to the store in a long time because I have not been buying CDs much at all. This year ended up being so busy that I found myself unable to sit down and enjoy listening to a CD start to finish, which I like to be able to do at least once or twice with each CD I buy. It got to be embarassing how many CDs were stacked around the house without even being played, or only being played for a song or two.

Another imperfection I do not care for is (dorky admission coming) the fact that the N is not going to play the episodes of Degrassi: The Next Generation where one of the characters gets pregnant and decides to have an abortion. I resent censorship, especially when there is no easy way for me to access these episodes on my own, and the idea of the episodes is to promote awareness and discussion. Abortions happen and will continue to happen whether or not these episodes run, but I do not think it is necessary to shield or protect viewers.

If you are opposed to these episodes, don't watch. It is that simple. With most censorship, it really is that simple. A speaker for the ACLU came to one of my classes and talked about how the world should not be filtered so it is only appropriate for children, because this is not a children's world. Adults should be able to enjoy and discuss adult matters. If it bugs you too, go here to sign a petition to get the episodes to see the light of American day.

Plus I need my guilty pleasure TV fix. It really comes down to selfish considerations in the end.

Love,

Mandy

past the mission

Site Meter