December 30, 2003
Feminist Essay Writer's Block

In some ways it seems like feminism is chiefly philosophy with a focus. Rather than compile the absolute truths for man, a feminist tries to understand the needs of women and how they can be satisfied fairly. It seems to be inherent for feminists to keep a more wholistic approach with consideration of society and a close look at the family.

Tied to the womb until the tomb.

A lot of females seem to strive to create structure and order amongst chaos, hoping that happiness will somehow emerge once the corners have been swept free of their dirt and dog hair. Mothers are among the first to see the most perfect human creation and from that point they hope to create an environment worthy of the pink face achieving happiness by wrapping tiny hands around the fingers of those they meet.

Would the world change for the better if we all held hands a little more instead of folding them in our laps or pressing them against our sides? Maybe if our fingers interlocked we could grow to understand each other better, it seems that there is always a lingering affection for those who press a sweaty palm against our own clamy grasp.

Or I could just be far more sentinmental than anyone else, or at least too sheltered to be deeply hurt by anyone who has taken my hand.

I do not know if I will write again before the year is out. If I do not, I hope the coming year will find me relying more on strength through touch instead of sight and sound.

Tonight a few of my friends and I played the game Imagine If. In the game a question is posed about someone everyone knows and everyone tries to guess which answer best fits the personality of the person in question. One of the questions that came up tonight was which sense would you characterize a person to be. The choices were the normal five senses and ESP. I am not sure what sense someone would choose for me or how they would justify their choice; at the same time I do not know which sense I would want to be. Maybe ESP, but I am not sure if I sense others nearly as well as I would like (or like to think).

I am not much for new years resolutions because I try to always have a spirit of self-improvement, but tonight I consider if I should resolve to focus on touching others rather than merely sensing. Turn intuition into action. I just hope that contact will not turn into combat.

Love,

Mandy

past the mission

Site Meter