April 6, 2002
Mmm...John Mayer and Some Other Not-So-Important Stuff

All I can say is yech to computer problems. And technicial support guys have my sympathy...GOD, thatwould have to be one of the worst jobs ever. I am a visual person...someone just telling me about their problems wouldn't help me at all. I'd have to play and tweak and do all sorts of stuff.

I can't decide if I should make plans for tonight. I wasn't feeling well earlier...hmm...I'll see if the person I was thinking of hanging out with is free, and then she can decide for me. I'm not up to making decisions.

Woo! I'm going out and seeing John Q . For the record, spontaneous stuff kicks ass SO MUCH. Spontaneous visits, spontaneous plans (an oxymoron if I ever heard one), and surprises. Plus I'll be chilling with someone I don't chill with outside of school very often.

Bonus: John Mayer is having a concert special on right now. God, everyone go buy his cd (Media Play's selling it for a mere $10). He's sexy, his voice is awesome, although admittedly his lyrics could use a little work from time to time, his music is fantastic!

Of course...I'm not sure if I want him to get super-big. Then he'll get overplayed, people I can't stand will be like, "Oh my god he's so hot! I love his music!". I just want him to be big enough he can put out a fantastic second album. God I love my boys with guitars (sorry...this gushing happens from time to time).

My daddy and I did the McDonalds breakfast, which I haven't done in AGES. It wasn't as good as I remembered, which is just as well since it's awful for my health. Still, hash browns are fantastic almost all the time. We bought some stuff for the computer that the computer doesn't appreciate (I'm on our other one right now), then off to Media Play. I almost bought the Starsailor CD (is it any good? Someone let me know...the price is still pretty good on it, etc). Instead I got Nirvana's In Utero, even though I'm not in my angry chick mood.

Perhaps that's why I couldn't get through Bitch past page 30. Argh...maybe a little farther. Still, it was rambling and it felt like she was making the same point over and over. (Halley I love you for loaning the book to me, but High Fidelity is much better for me, and I'll be happy to loan you that and any other book of mine you'd like) It sort of had that dragging essay feel that Searching for Hope: A Father's Journey had. In Bitch she states something like without women's sexiness all of the bible would suck ass and be boring. Then a bajillion examples to prove her point.

Maybe it was her thesis.

Ok, I'm being harsh. Maybe I just don't need the empowerment the book wants to provide me or something. I'd rather read about the guy who always fails at relationships and runs a record store in between sorting his albums. I love the music geeks in general, though it's cumbersome...whoa, forgot that train of thought. I got distracted by a conversation with my dad as to what states I've been to, farthest each direction I've been and all that fun stuff.

I know the curiousity's killing you: East-Italy (unless we're just talking the US then Provinceton, Mass) West-California, South-Key West, Florida, North-Seattle. I've covered most of the East Coast (I love the East Coast), not so much the stuff west of Ohio. I had to remind my dad of what city we had been in near the border between California and Nevada: "You had a hat!" My dad: "oh....um...Lake Tahoe!"

Ok, sorry about the travel interruption. I also bougth Elvis Costello's greatest hits...I only listened to a few of them because at the present time I'm obsessed with listening to Pete Yorn and John Mayer, toss in some of the Clash and Blondie.

I have no idea how this music reflects me. Oh well...I'll analyze it in therapy 10 years or so. For now I'll just listen to my tunes and curl up in a sleeping bag in my basement reading High Fidelity because I can think of a lot worse ways to spend a lazy Friday afternoon.

Love,

Mandy

past the mission

Site Meter