April 8, 2002
My Contempt for Bill Clinton

When Bill Clinton was elected for the first time ('92, in case you've forgotten), I was 7. Who knows why, but at the time I was a huge fan of George Bush, Sr., and before I even knew anything about the sordid Clintons I wrote on a scrap sheet of paper my mom had on her dresser, "I HATE BILL CLINTON", or something else not-so-nice.

My mom scolded me, "Don't ever write something like that again!". She told me something about how it was illegal to write that kind of stuff or treasonous. I'm sure she was just exaggerating because if I started scrawling "Bill Clinton die" or anything like that on my notebooks, not everyone would perceive my scrawlings to be so innocent.

Still, the image kind of scared me. I picked burly secret service men taking me off. I wasn't quite sure where they would take me exactly, but I was confident it was not going to be fun. I think I pictured a cell of some sort. Not a jail cell, but a looney bin one.

Specifically, the one from an episode of The Simpsons. Yep, I pictured an animated cell. Remember the episode where Homer wears the pink shirt to work, lets Bart fill out his insanity survey ("Do you wet your pants? Hey, even the best of us has an accident from time to time"..."Do you hear voices, Homer?" Homer, trying to watch tv: "I'm hearing one RIGHT NOW!"), and Homer meets a guy that sort of thinks he's Michael Jackson. Lisa it's your birthday, all that. Oddly enough, one of my favorite all-time episodes. So when I wrote nasty things about Bill Clinton, I pictured someone would discover what I wrote and cart me off to a cell, but as you recall the friendly Michael Jackson got out, and I had a feeling my cell mate wouldn't be so nice and friendly. Maybe friendly, but not in the good way.

I think from when I was 7 I saved up a bunch of contempt to now. Well, I'm not sure, but I really don't like the Clintons. I personally think they're morally depraved, and congratulations if you think I'm exaggerating or hard on them. All the more power to you. But I have little respect for them, I can even find faults with Chelsea (ok, only one, but a fault nonetheless).

So I was writing one of my weekly op-eds for English. Writing an op-ed consists of reading an op-ed, picking a new vocabulary word from it, defining it, then copying the sentence you found it, an idea reaction, and finally a language analysis. I don't hate these as much as a lot of my friends, because I love the idea reaction.

Well, there were two op-eds I was looking at. One about how horrible the education in California, and one about...Bill Clinton. It had a picture of the check had to write to the Arkansas Supreme Court admitting his wrongdoings.

Come on, I'm not that strong. I read the California article, then settled on the Clinton one. Oh, and I went to town on my idea reaction. I'm not sure how many times I've revealed how venomous I can be (at least, I think what I wrote was venomous).

If I thought a lot of people read this, now would be about the time I would write a disclaimer saying though you may not agree with it, you have to agree that I have a right to my opinion.

But maybe 8 people do read this.

Without further ado, my idea reaction:

"Stating the Clintons did no wrongdoing is, to put it in non-vulgar terms, preposterous. It�s too bad that independent counsel could not find enough evidence to indicate Bill and Hilary Clinton in Whitewater. The Clintons seem to be extremely weak on the moral front, and it appears at this point Bill Clinton will do anything to keep a stronghold on the limelight. Perhaps Bill Clinton�s $25,000 check can be framed and kept in the white house as a reminder that although President is position of great stature, it does not prevent or resolve a person from being morally depraved."

I could write a book, honestly. I'm sure I'd enjoy reading every negative thing ever said against the family, but later on I'd be ashamed I built my career on the faults of others.

Meanwhile, on the "Oh god, do I really have to be back at school front?", it has been made official that the next three weeks will be "a nightmare". Shit, couldn't we just have described it as "unpleasant". I should be grateful the term "hell" was only used by me. Preparing for the AP Exam (in my planbook, I called it "The Day I die, I shouldn't complain because poor Shawn has four. Not complaining's not my style, though) for the next couple of weeks, and none of my teachers have become any less homework-giving-happy. One week in French will be solid watching a movie, or most of it anyway.

If my teachers aren't considerate the week I have Exams, I'll simply find a way not to attend their class. I won't put up with insensitive crap like that, because the week before the Exam I'll be a raving lunatic (I'm sure that'll be reflected in what I write here).

For now, I'm up to my neck in work, I want to drop out of my music lessons until after the exam but can't do it (damn parents).

::Sigh:: And this was a really good release, thank you if you were able to read this far.

Love,

Mandy

past the mission

Site Meter