April 7, 2002
High Fidelity

This is my last day of Spring Break. And I'm soo sad. I was working on my history DBQ (if I haven't explained this yet, it's an evil history exam prep exercise), which I thought for sure was due later this week.

The time change killed me this morning. I needed another hour of sleep so badly...I just didn't want to do any homework today, though. So I barely have. Sorry, that's boring.

My week is just looking so depressing, schoolwork wise. And who am I kidding? School is my life, as much as I don't want to be.

I was going to try to write some witty comment about trying not to return the school's calls, etc, but the law and pesky police officers always get in the way of my declarations of school vacations at random intervals. But see...it's not funny.

I finished reading High Fidelity today. It was such a good book!! I could easily see me falling in love with a dorky guy who runs a record shop or something along those lines. Probably a little too easily.

In my adult life, I really hope I never date someone who's trying to write the "great American novel". Does that phrase bring horror and sympathy all at the same time for anyone else? It just makes me picture a twitchy businessman who wrote an article for his high school newspaper sometime, then quits his job to write his "novel". The twitchy businessman is usually married, and his wife is usually exasperated that she's supporting the household while all he does is watch tv and movies waiting for "inspiration" to hit, all at the same time going through three packages of oreos a week.

I think I'm afraid of middle age, but at least it's a few years off. Shoot me if I ever marry the "great American novelist." Some of the best writers are royally fucked up, especially when it comes to their personal lives. Apparently that fuels great creativity, though. I keep thinking Hemingway...the abusive alcoholic. Too bad tragedy seems to be a prerequisite for genuis. Insanity too.

Last night was fun, a casual dinner of telling stories with a couple friends, then going back to one of their houses and watching Trading Spaces. For the record, pale yellow and seafoam green look like shit together, I don't care what any "designer" says. SHIT.

My eyes have been all weird and out of focus all day. I think perhaps I put my contacs in the wrong eyes, or sleep depravation fucks up my vision. I don't think the latter's true, though, because I'm sleep deprived all the time and this is one of the only times my vision has been effected.

Now that I'm done reading about music geeks, I'm thinking I'm going to move on to British drug addicts. Later on I'll go to American, or perhaps I'm going to read more of The Substitute Chronicles if my eye sight will cooperate. I'm not ready to read about tragic coal miners...maybe I'll save that for after my exam, unless I get to pick that book for my fourth quarter one. Probably won't have such luck.

Nope, I'll probably instead have to try to read the diaries of one of the former popes, then write a sermon. In all honesty, my English class hasn't been so religious at this point in the year as it was at the beginning, but those first impressions really scarred.

Love,

Mandy

past the mission

Site Meter