December 24, 2003
-

I am on my way to getting my little intellectual heart shattered into pieces. Try not to cut yourself on the shards on your way out.

Today I received the Smith course catalogue and read through almost all of the course titles (I meant ot read through each one, but I am sure I missed one here and there) highlighting the classes I thought sound interesting in pink. Girls college, pink, it all makes enough sense for me.

Looking through what I have highlighted, it all sounds fun. Even the science courses sound like a good time because instead of making me strictly make cell plates or prepare slides I get to learn about the ethical issues plaguing science and I can grow to even understand cloning, stem-cell research, and everything else. I am in love with the government, philosophy, english, and history courses, but I can see myself happily attending economics courses. I do not have any love for anthropology, but I do not need to so yay!

While shooting the breeze with my nana she asked me what I want this year for Christmas. Usually I have a very specific list; ideally I have one big item I want. My only big item for the year will be around graduation, when I want a new laptop for college. I am tempted to purchase a macintosh, if you want to argue one way or the other in my guestbook I would appreciate the input. I told my nana the only really big thing I wanted (college admissions letters) cannot be purchased at any of the malls in of America. Sadly I will have to satisfy myself in a non-commercial, materialistic way.

Though I have to say I am tempted to write a thank you note to Smith for the course catalogue. So much excitement about my courses for the next four years is a pretty amazing gift to me. I cannot get over how excited I am to be excited about a science course. Me. Science. Excitement. Me.

Meanwhile I am anxiously waiting for my relatives to come from Michigan. Hurry hurry hurry!!

Love,

Mandy

past the mission

Site Meter